Patrizio Di Renzo

Artist & Photographer & Director
  • LIFESTYLE | PORTRAIT

About

Today Patrizio Di Renzo explores the art of photography to create illusion and unreality.

If photography brought truth and realism to art in the 19th century, then today Patrizio Di Renzo explores the art of photography to create illusion and unreality. Through his photographs, video, film and creative direction – in which nothing is ever quite what it seems to be – Di Renzo opens a window onto wondrous worlds of myth and magic, dreams and desires.
Born in Switzerland, and classically trained as an industrial photographer before moving into the realm of fashion and advertising, Di Renzo now lives between Zurich and New York as a photographer and creative director for a number of luxury brands.

Like the dreams that inspire him with their shifting scenarios, Patrizio Di Renzo and his work demonstrate a passion for stylistic dynamism, moving between disciplines, ideas and images, without boundaries. In his photographs Di Renzo creates pictures that lure with lyrical beauty and compel with an erotic edge. His images are sophisticated yet provocative. Imbued with a contemporary fashion aesthetic, touched with surrealism, Di Renzo images are layered with depths, reflections and references, visible to those who know how to look, how to see. Patrizio Di Renzo calls these illusory layers “inner truths”, saying that all his images are, in some way, self-portraits. The photographer becomes storyteller: images are Di Renzo’s language; nothing is as it first appears. Everything is an illusion, an invitation to escape the mundane, the ordinary, the everyday, to be transported to a space filled with dreams – a space in which the audience becomes a part of the dream.

Patrizio Di Renzo

Artist & Photographer & Director
  • LIFESTYLE | PORTRAIT

About

Patrizio Di Renzo entdeckt die Kunst der Fotografie um Illusionen zu kreieren.

Wenn die Fotografie im 19. Jahrhundert Wahrheit und Realismus in die Kunst brachte, dann erforscht Patrizio Di Renzo heute die Kunst der Fotografie, um Illusion und Unwirklichkeit zu schaffen. Mit seinen Fotografien, Videos, Filmen und kreativen Regiearbeiten - in denen nichts jemals ganz so ist, wie es scheint - öffnet Di Renzo ein Fenster zu wundersamen Welten von Mythen und Magie, Träumen und Sehnsüchten.
In der Schweiz geboren und klassisch als Industriefotograf ausgebildet, bevor er in den Bereich der Mode und Werbung wechselte, lebt Di Renzo heute zwischen Zürich und New York als Fotograf und Creative Director für verschiedene Luxusmarken.

Wie die Träume, die ihn mit ihren wechselnden Szenarien inspirieren, zeigen Patrizio Di Renzo und sein Werk eine Leidenschaft für stilistische Dynamik, die sich ohne Grenzen zwischen den Disziplinen, Ideen und Bildern bewegt. In seinen Fotografien schafft Di Renzo Bilder, die mit lyrischer Schönheit locken und mit einer erotischen Kante erzwingen. Seine Bilder sind raffiniert und doch provokativ. Eingebettet in eine zeitgenössische Modeästhetik, berührt vom Surrealismus, sind die Bilder von Di Renzo mit Tiefen, Reflexionen und Referenzen überlagert, sichtbar für diejenigen, die wissen, wie man aussieht, wie man sieht. Patrizio Di Renzo nennt diese illusorischen Schichten "innere Wahrheiten" und sagt, dass alle seine Bilder in gewisser Weise Selbstporträts sind. Der Fotograf wird zum Geschichtenerzähler: Bilder sind Di Renzo's Sprache; nichts ist so, wie es zunächst erscheint. Alles ist eine Illusion, eine Einladung, dem Alltäglichen, dem Gewöhnlichen, dem Alltäglichen zu entfliehen, um in einen Raum voller Träume versetzt zu werden - einen Raum, in dem das Publikum ein Teil des Traums wird.